Berger Joins Port of New Orleans Board

Darryl D. Berger is sworn in on February 23, 2017, at the monthly meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans. (Photo: Port of New Orleans)

Posted by Eric Haun

Gov. John Bel Edwards appointed Darryl D. Berger to the Board of
Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans. Berger, who was sworn
in during today's monthly Board meeting, will serve a five-year
term, succeeding Scott Cooper, one of four Orleans Parish
representatives on the seven-member regional Board.

Berger is President of The Berger Company Inc., which he founded
in 1972 and is based in New Orleans. An investor, developer and
financier of real estate, Berger is particularly active as a
leading developer in downtown New Orleans, leading projects such
as the Jax Brewery, one of the largest historic redevelopments in
the nation, as well as Canal Place, the Windsor Court, Omni Royal
Orleans, Loews New Orleans Hotel and Omni Riverfront Hotel.

Throughout his career, Berger's company has owned or developed in
excess of $1 billion of real estate of all types, including more
than two dozen retail shopping centers, various hotels, office
buildings, multi-family projects and parking facilities.

Berger currently serves as chairman of the New Orleans Tourism
and Marketing Corp., as well as a member of the Board of
Directors and Executive Committee of the New Orleans Convention
and Visitors Bureau.

Berger earned his bachelor's degree from Vanderbilt University
and his law degree from Tulane University. He currently serves as
chairman of the Board of Trustees of Tulane University and is a
member and former vice chairman of the Board of Trust of
Vanderbilt University. He served as the inaugural chairman and
founding member of the French Quarter Festival, founding member
of the French Quarter Management District and founding member of
the Vieux Carre Commission Foundation. He also currently serves
as a founding member and current Chair of the Board of the
University Medical Center.

The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans consists of
seven commissioners, who are unsalaried and serve five-year
staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from
a list of three nominees submitted by 19 local business, civic,
labor, education and maritime groups. Four members are selected
from Orleans Parish, two from Jefferson Parish and one from St.
Bernard Parish.

Current members include Chairman Michael W. Kearney, Vice
Chairman Robert R. Barkerding, Secretary-Treasurer Laney J.
Chouest, Arnold B. Baker, Tara C. Hernandez and William T.

Feb 23, 2017

Let's block ads! (Why?)

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.